Back to top

Submit a project to the Mobile Lives Forum

The Mobile Lives Forum funds research in the humanities and social sciences and that of an artistic nature. This is part of its programme founded on two axes:

Axis 1: Understand how our contemporaries structure/arrange their lifestyles, , how these are then lived out in territories and over time thanks to their movements, and are now being reshaped by digital and communication technologies.

Axis 2: Identify and propose the implementation of transition policies towards desired and sustainable lifestyles (spatial distribution of activities throughout the territory, of the organization of rhythms of everyday life, alternative transport, etc.)

In order to respond to the aspirations to live daily life in greater proximity to home and to better control the pace of life, as expressed in the survey carried out by the Forum in 2016, two themes are distinguished: work-related mobility and leisure-related mobility (leisure and tourism) and their implication in territorial organisation, which leads to the design of a new mobility system and the evaluation of the current proposed alternatives (autonomous vehicles, bicycles, low-tech, carpooling, etc.)

We’re looking for innovative, useful, forward-thinking research projects.

  • We are looking for socially useful projects that explore important dimensions of contemporary lifestyles from a mobility standpoint and help shed light on the challenge of transitioning towards desirable, sustainable lifestyles, both now and in the future.

  • We prefer topics that are not necessarily considered in traditional academic fields, which is why we typically do not finance academic dissertations that can be funded by universities.

  • Projects may be rooted in academic disciplines (geography, sociology, history, management, etc.) or be multi-disciplinary, and be based on qualitative/quantitative or participative methods (research-action) in a local, national, international or comparative perspective

  • These disciplines may be combined with the arts, e.g. photography, video, audio recordings, painting, or other forms of expression.

  • They may relate to experiments as part of the Area 2 of the program

Our involvement

We are deeply involved in the discussions of research and/or artistic projects, which we enjoy co-building with the authors, be it with regard to the topic itself, the methods used or how the value of project is enhanced through dissemination and public engagement. (See "Enhancing the value of the research" below).

Provision of research findings and data

Once the research has been concluded, we will publish the results on our website. Our goal is to make the quantitative/qualitative data and metadata produced (interviews, etc.) available to the entire scientific community.

  • Rigor and scientific transparency… …so as to promote the scientific nature of the research and discussions as regards the administration of evidence.

  • Re-use of data and public utility… …likewise to facilitate the use of research projects other than those for which the data was originally produced. We want to make their re-use possible. This is in line with the European program Es Fri and French projects headed by the CNRS’s Institute of Human and Social Sciences, such as Be Quali).

Enhancing the value of the research

In addition to the sharing of research findings, the Forum strongly encourages their wider dissemination through media, including books, films, comic books, photos, press kits, etc. tailored to the stakeholders (urban planning/transportation professionals, businesses, elected officials, the general public, etc.), in language that is accessible to them.

How to submit your project?

Please send your proposals (in French or English) to: christophe.gay@sncf.fr et à sylvie.landrieve@sncf.fr

Proposals in English should also be sent to: jcaletrio@gmail.com

Back to top

Pour mémoire, le Forum Vies Mobiles finance des recherches en sciences humaines et sociales et à caractère artistique qui s'inscrivent dans le cadre de son programme autour de 2 axes :

Axe 1 : Comprendre comment nos contemporains composent/agencent leurs modes de vie, comment ils les déploient sur les territoires et dans le temps grâce à leurs déplacements, recombinés maintenant par le numérique.

Axe 2 : Identifier et proposer de mettre en œuvre des politiques de transition vers des modes de vie désirés et soutenables (répartition spatiale des activités sur le territoire, aménagement des rythmes ,transport alternatifs …)

Dans la perspective de répondre aux aspirations énoncées dans l’enquête menée par le Forum en 2016 de vivre en plus grande proximité au quotidien et en maîtrisant mieux le rythme de sa vie, 2 thématiques sont distinguées : les mobilités liées au travail et celles liées au temps libre (loisir et tourisme) et leur implication dans l’organisation du territoire qui amène à concevoir un nouveau système de mobilité et à évaluer les alternatives envisagées (véhicule autonome, vélo, low tech, covoiturage,...).

Nous recherchons des projets de recherche innovants, utiles et prospectifs

  • Nous recherchons des projets socialement utiles, couvrant des pans significatifs des modes de vies contemporains sous l'angle de la mobilité, qui contribuent à éclairer les enjeux contemporains des transitions vers des modes de vie désirés et soutenables pour leur mise en œuvre aujourd’hui et demain.

  • Nous privilégions les sujets qui n'ont pas vocation à être pris en charge dans le champ académique traditionnel, raison pour laquelle, sauf exception, nous n’avons pas vocation à financer des thèses académiques pouvant trouver leur financement auprès des universités.

  • Ces projets peuvent être disciplinaires; géographie, sociologie, histoire, gestion ... ou pluridisciplinaires, suivant des méthodes quantitatives et qualitatives ou participatives (recherche-action ...) dans une perspective locale, nationale, internationale, ou comparative.

  • Ils peuvent combiner ces disciplines et les arts tels que la photo, la vidéo, les enregistrements audio, la peinture... ou d'autres formes d'expression.

  • Ils peuvent porter sur des expérimentations s'inscrivant dans l'axe 2 du programme

Nous ne sommes pas des mécènes

Nous nous impliquons fortement dans la discussion des projets de recherche ou artistiques que nous aimons co-construire avec les chercheurs ou les artistes, que ce soit en termes d'objet, de méthode ou de valorisation. (Cf ci-dessous «valorisation des projets »).

Mise à disposition des résultats et des données issue des recherches

À l'issue des recherches, nous en publions les résultats sur notre site. Nous souhaitons également mettre à disposition de l'ensemble de la communauté scientifique les données et métadonnées quantitatives ou qualitatives produites(entretiens…).

Rigueur et transparence scientifique : Cela afin de favoriser la scientificité des recherches et les discussions autour de l'administration de la preuve.

Ré-éxploitation des données et utilité publique : Cela également afin de favoriser le déploiement d'autres projets derecherche que ceux pour lesquels les données ont été initialement produites, nous souhaitons rendre possible leur ré-exploitation scientifique. Cela dans la lignée du programme européen EsFri et des projets français pilotés par l'Institut des Sciences humaines et sociales du CNRS tels que BeQuali.

Valorisation des projets

Au-delà de la communication des résultats de recherche réalisée par les chercheurs dans le champ académique, le Forum accorde une grande importance à leur valorisation par des médias (livres, films, bande dessinée, photos, dossiers de presse ...) spécialement conçus en fonction des destinataires (professionnels de l'urbanisme et des transports, entreprises, élus, grand public…) dans un langage compréhensible par eux.

Comment soumettre vos projets ?

Merci d'adresser vos propositions en français ou en anglais à : christophe.gay@sncf.fr et à sylvie.landrieve@sncf.fr

Les propositions en anglais doivent également être adressées à : javier.caletriogarcera@gmail.com